top of page

Passports and Visas and Luggage... Oh My!

Welcome! I'm Mary, a junior at Syracuse University studying public affairs and psychology. This upcoming fall semester (as I'm sure you've guessed), I will be studying in Copenhagen, Denmark. I've never been out of the US before (with the exception of Niagara Falls, Canada once), so this will definitely be a new experience for me. I'm as prepared as I can be, having already been packed for a week, and I am flying out the day after tomorrow.

Let me say that one more time. I AM FLYING OUT THE DAY AFTER TOMORROW!

When I arrive, I will meet my roommates and all of the students living in the Outdoor LLC with me. I can't wait to hike, bike, camp, and canoe my way around Denmark! Also, knowing that I will already have a community and support system is very comforting and helping me a lot during my final days in the US.

Today, I am trading Syracuse (my college town and mom's home) for Philadelphia to spend some time with my dad. While some of my friends are moving into their apartments and getting settled for their semester at SU, I am getting ready to leave. Although I have been lucky enough to see some of my college friends before leaving (shoutout Hailey and Sam), I won't pretend that saying "see ya later!" is easy. It's important to remember that they are still only a phone call or FaceTime away. Meanwhile, I will be having the time of my life in Copenhagen! In these upcoming months, I will have experiences that I can not even imagine right now, and that is incredibly exciting! I will get to travel, explore, learn, and grow in a beautiful city.

Next time we talk, I'll be there.

See you on the flip side, blog!

-Mary

bottom of page