top of page

DIScovering... Amager?

What a whirlwind, y'all. On Friday (Saturday? both?), I battled three flights, two layovers, one lost suit case, and LOTS of jet lag. I lost my mind for a minute (read: cried) after arrival when I was waiting for my bus to my housing. Thankfully, an incredible woman from DIS calmed my nerves. Jet lag, culture shock, and homesickness hit me like a ton of bricks, but she reminded me that it's totally normal to feel those things. I cried it out and haven't had a twinge of sadness since.

When I arrived at my LLC, I was honestly in awe. It's so beautiful and much bigger than I expected. There's also much more storage than I though there would be. Maybe I should have packed more stuff! Since then, I have been getting to know my flatmates and beginning to explore the city. Last night a few of us went to Copenhagen Pride and wandered around until we found Nyhavn. Even though it was at night, it was beautiful. I definitely want to go back and see more of it in the daytime. When we got home, we stuffed our faces with leftover pizza, and then I had the soundest sleep of my life. We got home around midnight in Copenhagen, which is 6 am at home, and I hadn't slept since the flight in! I'm glad I fought through the jet lag though because now I am pretty adjusted to the time.

Today we did a "discover your neighborhood challenge" around Amager. Somehow, I ended up alone on a bus in the center of Copenhagen. That was pretty scary, but I'm proud of myself for finding my way back! Then I trecked to the airport to claim my luggage and got to finish unpacking. It's so nice to have my things!

Tomorrow we will start orientation which will really kick off the semester. For now, though, I'm going to try to figure out how to work our stove and make some hot chocolate with my flatmates.

-Mary

(Day 2)

bottom of page