top of page

Settling In and Branching Out

It's crazy to think that I've already been in Copenhagen for almost two weeks! Luckily, I'm starting to develop a routine, and Copenhagen is feeling more and more like home every day.

I'm getting adjusted to my classes, which are much smaller than I am used to with only 20-30 students. I've also begun to conquer my fear of biking in the city, and I've biked to and from class every day (with Google Maps yelling at me in my headphones, but I digress).

Over the weekend our SRA Jannie took some of us to the Brøndby soccer game, which was such an incredible experience! We chanted along (in Danish), ate some of the best hot dogs I've ever had, and cheered them on to a 3-0 victory! Before the game started, we took a group picture. I wasn't looking, but here we are in our lovely yellow and blue!

On Tuesday, my LLC and I had our first event- a much welcomed kayaking excursion through the canals of Copenhagen. What a beautiful way to see the city! It was awesome to see how many places I have already visited, and how many are still on my list to see. As we made our last turn, we were greeted by a beautiful sunset. I didn't have my camera on me, but here is a picture that my friend Caroline took!

My last adventure of the week was to the Designmuseum Danmark, or the Design Museum of Denmark. Students get in for free, which was definitely a plus. We spent most of our time in two exhibits, both of which I loved! The first one was a fashion exhibit through the ages. They had beautiful gowns from the 1700s all the way up to the 1990s! My other favorite exhibit, and the exhibit the museum is most famous for, is the Danish Chair exhibit. Here is my favorite!

I'm kidding- this is a chair that was in the entrance of the museum, but it's still probably my favorite one there (mostly because it was the only one I could sit in).

Also, I have some exciting travel plans within Denmark this weekend, but you'll have to check back later to hear about them.

Until then, I'm off to study for my Renewable Energy Systems class with a friend!

-Mary

(Day 13)

bottom of page