top of page

Travel Week Part 2: Planes and Trains and Cars

Hello again! When I updated y'all midway through my travel break, I had just landed in Florence, Italy. When I was there I saw Abby, one of my best friends from SU, who is studying in Florence for the semester. She became my personal tour guide for the day and showed me her favorite places in the city!

The Duomo, or the Cattedrale di Santa Maria del Fiore, is an absolutely incredible cathedral in Florence that Abby passes almost every day!

The countless stairs were so worth this view of Florence at sunset!

Spaghetti with olive oil, garlic, chili peppers, bacon, and cheese. OH YEAH!

Oh and yes, we did eat our weight in gelato.

For the weekend, Abby and I took a lovely train ride from Florence to Rome and then flew to Geneva, Switzerland. There we checked into our Airbnb and... relaxed. As students studying abroad, it is so easy to forget that sometimes you need a break. Even though it is important to make the most of every moment here, it is equally important to take time off to rest. Abby and I got in our pajamas at 5 pm, cooked a dinner of chicken nuggets and french fries, and curled up on the couch to watch some movies. And it was wonderful. Remember to give yourself a day off every once in a while.

On Saturday, Abby and I rented a car and drove about two hours from Geneva to Interlaken, a breathtaking town situated on a lake in a valley of the Swiss Alps. These pictures don't do it justice.

A pond in Interlaken where we stopped to have a picnic lunch. The water is so clear, you can see right to the bottom!

At my summer internship, I was given a coin to take a picture with in Interlaken. I didn't forget about it! If you're reading this SMTC, I miss y'all!

After lunch, Abby and I checked something off of our bucket lists- we went skydiving! We planned this in June, when it was just an idea and hadn't fully sunk in (probably so we wouldn't chicken out). Surprisingly, neither of us were nervous to go when the day finally arrived. I was expecting the experience to be invigorating and give me a ton of adrenaline. Instead, I found that falling out of a plane from about 18,000 feet to be quite peaceful. Don't get me wrong, I screamed my head off, but I also felt like I was flying through the clouds and floating above the world. It was so calming that I napped on the car ride home.

Some snazzy jumpsuits!

Abby and I in front of our plane! It took approximately 15 minutes to fly to the proper altitude.

I guess you could say I had a pretty nice view.

When we returned to Geneva, we still had some time before we had to return the car, so we drove to the other side of Geneva and saw the United Nations! Both of us are public affairs majors, so we definitely geeked out a bit.

Every member of the United Nations is represented here, their flags being flown at the same height to represent equality across nations.

This Broken Chair monument sits across from the UN. It symbolizes an opposition to bombs and violence and serves as a constant reminder of peace to the ambassadors.

Overall, this week was easily, truly the best week of my life. I got to see some of the most beautiful cities, and I learned so much about myself. I gained a new sense of independence and a greater worldview. I also got to see a friend, who helped me quell my homesickness. Lastly, traveling and experiencing new cultures reminded me why I studied abroad in the first place. This week got me re-excited to be in Europe, which was just what I needed at this halfway point.

But alas, I am still a student, and I have an essay to write for Psychology of Leadership. Talk to you soon!

-Mary

(Day 59)

bottom of page